Brad Mehldau - Rushの楽曲"Tom Sawyer"の一部を取り入れた"maybe as his skies are wide"MVを公開 新譜「Jacob's Ladder」2022年3月18日発売予定


Brad Mehldau - Rushの楽曲


Brad Mehldau 新譜「Jacob's Ladder」Nonesuch Recordsから2022年3月18日発売予定、アナログ盤もリリースされる予定です。

Rush, Gentle Giant, Emerson, Lake and Palmer など、影響を受けたプログレッシブ・ロックの一部を取り入れた楽曲を収めた作品。

Rushの楽曲"Tom Sawyer"の一部を取り入れた"maybe as his skies are wide"Official Videoが、YouTube Nonesuch Records チャンネルにてプレミア公開されました。

公開日は 2022/01/28 。

Brad Mehldau's "maybe as his skies are wide," from his album 'Jacob's Ladder,' due March 18 on Nonesuch Records. Pre-order:

Produced by Brad Mehldau and John Davis
Contains elements of “Tom Sawyer”
Written by Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart, and Pye Dubois
Anthem Core Music Publishing (SOCAN/SESAC)
Anthem Entertainment S (SOCAN/SESAC)

Luca van den Bossche: treble voice
Brad Mehldau: Steinway D grand piano, glockenspiel, Akai S-950 Sampler, Korg MS-20 synthesizer
Mark Guliana: drums
John Davis: Elektron Octatrack

Video edited by Robert Edridge-Waks

Brad Mehldau - maybe as his skies are wide (Official Video)

Brad Mehldau - Jacob's Ladder


1. maybe as his skies are wide (Alex Lifeson / Geddy Lee / Neil Peart / Pye Dubois)
2. Herr und Knecht
3. (Entr'acte) Glam Perfume
4. Cogs in Cogs, Pt. I: Dance (Derek Shulman / Kerry Minnear / Ray Shulman)
5. Cogs in Cogs, Pt. II: Song (Derek Shulman / Kerry Minnear / Ray Shulman)
6. Cogs in Cogs, Pt. III: Double Fugue (Derek Shulman / Kerry Minnear / Ray Shulman)
7. Tom Sawyer (Alex Lifeson / Geddy Lee / Neil Peart / Pye Dubois)
8. Vou correndo te encontrar / Racecar (Alexander Bois / Casey Sabol / Jake Bowen / Matthew Halpern / Misha Mansoor / Spencer Sotelo / Thomas Murphy)
9. Jacob’s Ladder, Pt. I: Liturgy
10. Jacob’s Ladder, Pt. II: Song
11. Jacob’s Ladder, Pt. III: Ladder
12. Heaven: I. All Once - II. Life Seeker - III. Wurm - IV. Epilogue: It Was a Dream But I Carry It Still

Brad Mehldau's New Album, 'Jacob's Ladder,' Due March 18 on Nonesuch Records

Nonesuch Records releases Brad Mehldau’s Jacob’s Ladder on March 18, 2022 on CD and digital; a vinyl LP version will be released later in the year (exact date TBD). The album features new music that reflects on scripture and the search for God through music inspired by the prog rock Mehldau loved as a young adolescent, which was his gateway to the fusion that eventually led to his discovery of jazz. Featured musicians on the album include Mehldau’s label mates Chris Thile and Cecile McLorin Salvant, as well as Mark Guiliana, Becca Stevens, Joel Frahm, and others. A video for ‘maybe as his skies are wide’ is available today here. The song builds off an interpolation of one portion of Rush’s classic “Tom Sawyer.” Nonesuch Store pre-orders include an exclusive signed, limited-edition print.

Mehldau explains, “We are born close to God, and as we mature, we invariably move further and further away from Him on account of our ego. Jacob’s Ladder begins at that place closer to God with the voice of child, and then moves into the world of action. God is always there, but in our discovery and conquest, and all the joys and sorrows they bring, we may lose sight of him. He sets a ladder before us though, like in Jacob’s dream, and we climb towards him, to find reconciliation with ourselves, to stitch up all those worldly wounds and finally heal. The record ends with my vision of heaven?once again as a child, His child, in eternal grace, in ecstasy.

“The musical conduit on the record is prog,” Mehldau continues. “Prog?progressive rock?was the music of my childhood, before I discovered jazz. It matched the fantasy and science fiction books I read from C.S. Lewis, Madeleine L’Engle and others at that time, aged ten through twelve. It was my gateway to the fusion of Miles Davis, Weather Report, Mahavishnu Orchestra and other groups, which in turn was the gateway to more jazz. Jazz shared with prog a broader expressive scope and larger-scale ambitions than the rock music I had known already.

“The prog from Rush, Gentle Giant, and Emerson, Lake and Palmer here only hints at the genre’s conceptual, compositional and emotional range. These bands and others have continued to influence newer groups that bring prog impulses into the arena of hard rock and screaming math metal, like Periphery, whose music is included here, and also inspired the screaming vocals on ‘Herr und Knecht.’ I tried to avoid a direct tribute approach to all the songs, and opted in some cases for excerpts, or reworking of themes.”

Although Brad Mehldau is best known as a jazz composer and improviser, he has made several albums that fall outside of the mainstream jazz genre, including his 2001 Largo, produced by Jon Brion. Wide-ranging in texture and big in scale, it features woodwind or brass ensembles are on several tracks, as well as a heavy emphasis on powerful drums. In 2010, Nonesuch released his second collaboration with Brion, Highway Rider, which includes performances by Mehldau’s trio?drummer Jeff Ballard and bassist Larry Grenadier?as well as drummer Matt Chamberlain, saxophonist Joshua Redman, and a chamber orchestra led by Dan Coleman. Mehldau also orchestrated and arranged the album’s fifteen pieces for the ensemble.

Mehldau’s 2014 collaboration with Mark Guiliana, Mehliana: Taming the Dragon, featured Mehldau on Fender Rhodes and synthesizers and Guiliana on drums and effects, playing twelve original tunes?six by the duo and six by Mehldau. His 2019 album Finding Gabriel featured performances by him on piano, synthesizers, percussion, and Fender Rhodes, as well as vocals. Guest musicians included Ambrose Akinmusire, Sara Caswell, Kurt Elling, Joel Frahm, Mark Guiliana, Gabriel Kahane, and Becca Stevens, among others.

Brad Mehldau's New Album, 'Jacob's Ladder,' Due March 18 on Nonesuch Records | Nonesuch Records