Brad Mehldau - ソロピアノによる「moers festival 2021」約44分のライブ映像を公開


Brad Mehldau - ソロピアノによる「moers festival 2021」約44分のライブ映像を公開 thm Music info Clip


2021年5月21日~24日 ドイツ・メールスにて開催された「moers festival 2021」。

2021年5月21日に出演したBrad Mehldauのソロピアノによるによる「aerosolo #1」約50分のライブ映像が、YouTube ARTE Concert オフィシャル チャンネルにて公開されました。

公開日は 2021/06/25 。

Hier sind sich alle einig: Brad Mehldau zählt ohne Zweifel zu den wichtigsten Jazzpianisten der letzten Jahrzehnte. Das liegt nicht nur an seiner Veredelung von Anleihen aus der Popmusik, das haben nicht minder gewaltige Kollegen wie Esbjörn Svensson oder Ethan Iversson ebenfalls getan.
Nein, Mehldaus Einzigartigkeit beruht auf seinem stets kontrapunktisch gedachten Spiel, bei dem die Hände intime Dialoge oder leidenschaftliche Diskussionen miteinander führen. Hier wird der so oft Pate stehende Bach mal wirklich von der Substanz her eingearbeitet. Improvisierte Fugati!

Voilà qui devrait mettre tout le monde d’accord : Brad Mehldau est sans aucun doute un des pianistes de jazz les plus importants de ces dernières décennies. Ce qui ne tient pas seulement à la sophistication de ses emprunts à la pop, car ça, d’autres pointures comme Esbjörn Svensson ou Ethan Iversson l’ont également fait.
Ce qui rend bien plus Brad Mehldau si unique, c’est un jeu toujours pensé en mode contrapuntique où les mains s’engagent dans des dialogues intimistes quand elles ne s’envolent pas dans des échanges passionnés. En faisant accéder l’art de la fugue à l’improvisation, le pianiste américain prolonge l’héritage musical de Bach, figure tutélaire si souvent invoquée..

Brad Mehldau - aerosolo #1 @ moers festival 2021 - ARTE Concert

Brad Mehldau 新譜「Suite: April 2020」Nonesuch Recordsから2020年6月12日発売、アナログ盤(限定)とデジタル配信にてリリース。

12曲の新曲とNeil Young, Billy Joel, Jerome Kernのカバーを収めた作品。

Brad Mehldau - Suite: April 2020


1. I. waking up
2. II. stepping outside
3. III. keeping distance
4. IV. stopping, listening: hearing
5. V. remembering before all this
6. VI. uncertainty
7. VII. - the day moves by -
8. VIII. yearning
9. IX. waiting
10. X. in the kitchen
11. XI. family harmony
12. XII. lullaby
13. Don't Let It Bring You Down
14. New York State of Mind
15. Look for the Silver Lining

While sheltering at home with his family in the Netherlands during the COVID-19 pandemic, Brad Mehldau wrote twelve new songs about what he was experiencing; he was able to record them safely in an Amsterdam studio, together with tunes by Neil Young, Billy Joel, and Jerome Kern that mean a great deal to him, for this album, Suite: April 2020. "Suite: April 2020 is a musical snapshot of life [at the time] in the world in which we've all found ourselves," Mehldau says. "I've tried to portray on the piano some experiences and feelings that are both new and common to many of us." This 180-gram deluxe vinyl edition is limited to 1,000 numbered units, signed by Mehldau, with 100% of the $100 price going to the Jazz Foundation of America's COVID-19 Musician's Emergency Fund. The generosity of many involved in this record has allowed all of the proceeds from the deluxe vinyl to be donated to JFA: With the support from direct-to-disc label Night Dreamer, Holland’s Record Industry pressed the vinyl quickly at no cost and Copenhagen Vinyl will waive handling fees for order fulfillment. Package designer Barbara deWilde also donated her services. Ships from Denmark; no returns.


Brad Mehldau Introduces 'Suite: April 2020,' Performs "remembering before all this"